Pigeon Tales

July 7, 2014

Mourning Jimi and Fifi has a new Boyfriend

Filed under: behaviour,birds,documentary,Jimi,photos,PIGEON,sad — pigeonwriter @ 5:05 pm

From the

Diary as of 2/18 – 2/25/2014

2/18   The mornings are the worst: first thought after waking is that we will never see Jimi again.

I am still in a state of shock, feeling ripped apart. My face is aching from all the crying that does not stop. We buried Jimi yesterday besides Emily and Baby Flea. This is at least some comfort that he is not alone and we can come back whenever we want to and talk to them…

Everything is still so unreal. Look at them, Jimi and Fifi – this was 3 days ago (the day before Jimi died):

0215x0002jimfi
0215x0003jimfi
0215x0006jimi

I am glad though that I have these photos – they are showing that nothing could be foreseen…

2/19   Fifi has laid an egg – it is egg#17 but I don’t think that she will sit on it. But life goes on and the body functions continue…

Micky also laid her second egg# 42.

2/20   I am still waking up each morning crying. These are the worst moments when the memory is coming back that no koala bear will be waddling around the corner any more… During the day it is getting easier when things need to be done and when Pina is playing her tricks again or Rudi is annoyed when the others eat HIS personal food! Fifi is doing well so far. Thank heaven she has stopped crying (this was the worst – to hear her crying all the time). She is eating well and is jumping on my knees whenever she is eating. She also has started to have that funny conversation with me again where she makes those little smacking sounds with her beak. She has laid an egg yesterday but is not sitting on it. I wonder whether she will lay another one. She is even making love with Rudi to the big dismay of Pina of course who is getting very jealous. But what can I do? Fifi is courted by all the other males on the balcony as well. I wonder how this will continue? Of course Fifi will be part of our family as long as she wishes to. I really hope that she is staying here.

2/21   Fifi‘s laid her second egg #18 to my surprise but she is not breeding. I decided to exchange the eggs anyway with plaster eggs and let them in her house for a while. Maybe she loves to sit on them now and then. And it shows any curious visitors that the house is occupied even when Fifi is “on the road”.

Today I thought Fifi has a new boyfriend. A nearly black pigeon was sitting on the roof of Fifi’s house and courting Fifi. But then I realized that he was not calling Fifi to join him but his wife. What a perfidious couple!!! I cannot believe it. They try to chase Fifi out of her home with nasty tricks. I am not going to tolerate that of course. I promised Jimi to take care of his wife.

2/22   I cannot tell you how much I miss Jimi. I am crying each day whenever the memory comes back. I feel totally lost. And it is so unfair. Just when Jimi was feeling so well and happy he had to go. I cannot understand this.

2/23   I am dreading Sundays. They are terrible. They make me cry again. When will this stop?

2/24   Life on the balcony continues of course. Amanda has laid her first egg #1 here now.  I forgot to tell you that Sandy took his beautiful daughter as his new mate. What a wonderful couple. I gave them a new house made from a small plastic box with a real entry and a roof. They have their own home now and they are very happy. Sandy has become very nice and he gets on very well with the other residents now.  Sometimes there is a little dispute here and there with Woody or Lucky but nothing serious. They are all family now. What a comfort!

2/25   Pina went on her nest tonight.

Life can be so unfair soemtimes and although I have learned to accept certain things after a while I am also so disappointed and desperate in others because I truly do not understand the sense behind it. It is simply cruel and unfair.  I am still mourning Jimi a lot and will do so forever because the hole he left can never be filled again but I also feel some comfort in watching the others and their antics.

Finally Loki and Lotti are living on the balcony also. I have tried to chase them off for so long. I have given up. And Sandy – well he managed to stay here as well. After he was left by his wife due to canker he found a new mate: his daughter Amanda. Can you believe this? We have a red couple here now – the only one in our area. I gave them their own house and Amanda already laid 2 eggs. Loki and Lotty will get their own house next week. These buggers have well utilized my current weakness for their own advantage.

On the other hand it has become surprisingly quiet on the balcony now because all these residents now chase off any other foreign pigeon. Which of course is good for me because of the neighbours. Altogether we have now 6 couples living on the balcony!!! Can you imagine? Ahhh – I forgot – Fifi HAS a new boyfriend. Whether he, Oliver, will become her real mate – is too early to say. But Fifi is doing very well. She seemed to have found a way to carry on with her normal life.

~~~

1 Comment »

  1. I am so sorry about Jimi…. but I seem to have missed a lot of your posts, will have to try and see how I can catch up. I don’t even know what happened to Jimi

    Comment by anniefaith — July 7, 2014 @ 8:53 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

