Pigeon Tales

June 30, 2014

One of the blackest Days: Jimi went to the Rainbow

Filed under: birds,bite,broken beak,documentary,Fifi,INJURIES,Jimi,new egg,PIGEON,sad — pigeonwriter @ 11:02 am

This is the update of an entry I dreaded most. That’s why it took me so long to write it down and there were some other, very unpleasant events with my complaining neighbours since the last update. I had to get my thoughts in order again…

From the

Diary as of 2/14 – 2/17/2014

2/14   Betty laid her second egg #10.

2/15   Maggy laid also – it’s egg #37. As usual a perfect little egg. As well as Micky, her’s is #

2/16   Today is one of the blackest days in my life: JIMI IS GONE. He flew over the rainbow. My darling boy, Emily’s and Pete’s son, was called to join his parents in heaven. It is a nightmare or worse than that because I will not wake up again from this.

Jimi was doing very well in the last few weeks. He was healthy and in good mood. During the last week he was heavily cuddling with Fifi again and appeared so very happy that I did not suspect anything at all. Yesterday morning he came in together with Fifi for breakfast. They jumped on my knees and were happily feeding together. After that they left together, flew up to their house and continued cuddling and grooming each other. A picture of utmost harmony.

1010x0005jimfi

1010x0009jimfi

1010x0011jimfi

I was busy myself and had some work to do inside. Short before lunchtime I heard some tumult outside, saw Jimi flying from his house to the balustrade, apparently chasing some other pigeons and then he went back to his house. In this very moment I realized – when I was looking upwards – that he somehow was gaping for air and his head was dangling downwards. I immediately grabbed the ladder, grabbed Jimi who closed his eyes in this moment – forever. I held a lifeless bird in my arms. It took me hours – so it seemed – to realize that he was really gone. My beautiful angel bird was gone…

In June he would have been 6 years old.

I cannot tell you really what I feel. It is as if I have lost a child, as if someone has torn my soul and body into pieces. There was so much love between this bird and me, a very special bond. When he looked into my eyes I had the feeling that he knew any thought I had in my head. He understood every word I was telling him. He knew before I was telling him, be it some trivial things or how much I loved him. And he loved me. There was something unearthly about this. Since he had returned to live on our balcony (when his mother Emily had died) the bond became more and more intense.

Jimi was not really a pigeon whom you could cuddle like a real pet – he did not like to be touched besides when he was sick. But he was extremely trustful and sometimes perched on the bed just beside me watching tv or on the carpet near me like a little poudle.

1025x0014jimi

When he was not feeling well and this happened many times he came inside and stayed in our bedroom and even sometimes spent the night inside until he was feeling well again. Fifi – his mate – accepted his strange behaviour – she always knew that Jimi was not far away. Now she is mourning, calling for him all day long. I feel so helpless.

When Fifi came last year to us, with a nasty injury from a bite, they both fell in love with each other. Jimi was so happy.

0601x0002fifijimi

0716x0001jimfi

0716x0002jimfi

0730x0068jimi

It was the second time that he found a mate here in our home.  And when I built them their own house on the balcony life seemed to be perfect for them. Finally Jimi had all the luck and happiness he did not have for so long. He was only 1 1/2 years old when he caught PMV. He recovered completely but had several severe relapses, when he could not eat by himself any more and where he came home to seek help each time. And then he had this terrible fight after recovering from a PMV relaspe just the very day when we released him.

0324x0010jimi

0324x0014jimi

Apparently some bossy pigeon had taken Jimi’s home and Jimi fought for it.  He was injured so badly – his whole face covered in blood – that he nearly died. His upper beak was broken, his lower beak and chin completely chewed up with various holes and then the whole mouth was so swollen that he hardly could open it. With his last energy left he came home to seek help. After many weeks of healing process and staying inside he recovered again and so met Fifi.

0512x0004jimi

0512x0009jimi

Jimi always was a lonesomer somehow. He always rather stayed with us than socializing with other pigeons. He already was like this as a baby. He never flew around much but was rather perching somewhere where no-one did disturb him so my thought is that he might have had a weak heart from the beginning – just like humans sometimes. And now, after all these bad things that happened to him, it was finally too much for his little heart.

0216x0016jimi

Jimi left for the rainbow, peacefully without pain, flying now with his mother and his father, a beautiful angel with a heart that will never stop beating again for his loved ones and helping Fifi to get over these hard times. I promised him to take care for her as long as she needs it…

2/17   Woke up during the night several times. Felt that pain and could hardly breathe. My partner woke up as well, feeling his heart pounding heavily with the first thought about Jimi being gone…

Today we buried our beloved feathered angel Jimi besides his mother Emily and Baby Flea in our favourite forest. My heart is broken because Jimi left without the slightest pre-warning and I do not understand yet what has happened. I am currently in a state of shock and feel like being ripped apart…

0711x0034grave

~~~

 

6 Comments »

  1. I am so sorry about poor Jimi, I am writing this with tears in my eyes. I so enjoyed reading about him. What a terrible loss for you. He was such a special pigeon. But you must think about all the happy times you gave him, how happy he was with you, and Fifi. And he’d been through a lot in his life. Thank you for looking after him so well. What a beautiful picture that is of him with the flowers. The most important thing to remember is, he was able to have love and care in his life, when so many pigeons just struggle to survive.

    Comment by posttraumaticcommuter — July 3, 2014 @ 11:12 am | Reply

  2. I have now caught up with your blog, and like the person above, I also have tears in my eyes. I know what it is to love a pigeon and have it die…. I am so sorry for you. You do amazing things for your birds, and Jimi was one special pigeon, and so lucky to have you to look after him. I know it is small comfort, but at least you had him there with you and could give him a funeral.

    Comment by anniefaith — July 7, 2014 @ 9:00 pm | Reply

  3. PS Do I have your permission to put a link to your blog from my blog (about my doves and pigeons)?- I am sure some of my readers would like to read your posts.

    Comment by anniefaith — July 7, 2014 @ 9:01 pm | Reply

    • Oh please Annie – you don’t need my permission to link to this blog ♥♥♥

      Comment by pigeonwriter — July 9, 2014 @ 10:38 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

