Pigeon Tales

April 6, 2014

Hermine is recovering and Pina is furious

From the

Diary as of 1/1 – 1/15/2014

1/1   NEW YEAR!

When I checked our new patient, Hermine, today I realized that the swelling had come down drastically and also the green parts have become smaller. I also realized that the wing was definitely not broken but also saw now that there WAS a bite from something that must have been bigger than a cat: definitely 2 puncture wounds which I could not see yesterday due to the swelling. I put her on Baytril this evening.

0115x0030her

0115x0031her

0115x0032her

Hermine is a young pigeon, maybe 1/2 a year old but she has a good weight – 330 gr. Her condition is good – she made a lot of absolutely perfect little :poop: during the night and during the day. So everything she needs is peace, medicine, food and drink. She is a real sweetie. But again – how on earth did she find us on the 13th floor!!? That really puzzles me because she is definitely not one of our balcony flock.

I would say that the prognosis is good at the moment. And this is a big relief for me because I could not have kept a disabled pigeon here…

The irony is that Droopy, the other pigeon with a wing injury,  is missing since yesterday. I hope she will turn up eventually.

1/5   Hermine is doing very well. Despite the antibiotics she is making good :poop: which means that her digestion works well still.

1/6   Droopy is still missing. I really woder what happened to her after she came here for so long.

1/7   Today Hermine received her last Baytril. In the evening  I started her on Bene Bac (pro-biotic) just in case.

1/8   In the morning I gave Hermine her first Calcivet (extra Calcium) portion and in the evening Bene Bac again. Will continue this program during the next 3 days.

1/9   Our pijjie gang is behaving spring-like and they are all doing well.

Hermine’s bite seems to heal without any complications and she has started to sing in the morning two days ago. How sweet is that? Yesterday evening – when I put her to bed – she opened both her wings and did a slight helicoptering as if she wanted to tell me that her wing will be alright again. I was a bit worried so far as it is drooping still. This weekend we are going to let her out of her box in a controlled environment to see whether she will be able to use her wing normally again. Since 2 days she is off Baytril and I give her pro-biotic and calcium.

Rudi is working like crazy again to prepare the NESTS for Pina again. Yes – he has to work on TWO because Pina cannot decide which one she will prefer. Poor Rudi – but on the other hand this is a perfect exercise for him – he is very beefy. I have calculated that when I cut 6 cardboard rolls into stripes and Rudi uses every one he has to fly up to the cupboard 120 times. No wonder he is such a muscleman!!! This is mostly going on for several days – now you can calculate also…

1/10   Rudi seems to cope with the presence of Hermine – because he does not show big interest in her but then she is only a baby and not a competitor or a danger for his home.

At the moment Pina is very jaleous because of Jimi and Hermine though. She takes any chance to attack him when he leaves our bedroom to go outside. And when she sees me talking to Hermine she is getting really angry. She even tried to bite me into my naked heels today, running after me like a little poudle and I had to be very careful not to step on her. Btw – it hurts when she is in one of her jealousy rages, using her beak like a rapier and I have my hands full to change this into a game so that she calms down again. My poor little baby is very possessive for fear of losing her Mommy. Oh my…

1/11   Weighing day for Hermine again:  320 gr – so she has only lost 12 gr. I am very happy about that because I feared that due to the antibiotics she might lose her appetite.

Pina has finally decided which nest she would take and I gave her a plaster egg after she had not laid in the night.

1/12   Yesterday we let Hermine out of her box for the first time to see how she was able to use her wing. I closed our little entrance “hall” with a piece of cloth so that she had some space to move around. At first she was very reluctant to leave her box and it took several minutes until she jumped on the edge. Then she did a little helicoptering and flew right around the corner into the kitchen. We could hardly react. Quickly I closed this area for fear that she could hurt herself but she landed on the laundry basket without problems. While she was flattering you would not have realized that she had problems with her wing ever. I thought she had enough exercise for the first time and guided her carefully back to her box and she jumped deliberately into it.

Today we did the same. I was still a bit worried because Hermine is dragging her wing still very much but when she flew up to the ceiling and then tried to land on my jacket which is hanging quite high in the wardrobe and flapping her wings for quite some time to keep her balance I was surprised that she could do so without problems. So I assume that some nerves of the wing muscles have been damaged and that this is the reason why she is dragging her wing still while she is standing in her box as well as moving around on her feet. From time to time she seems to remember to hold her wing in the right position though. Also she did some helicoptering today while she was outside to train her muscles. Good sign – isn’t it?

Tomorrow I will give her more room for exercises with the mosquito net. We did this with Gino and in other cases also. It is always very difficult here to give sick pigeons some room while we have Pina and Rudi here. They both are not specifically amused about our new guest. But now I know that this will be only a matter of time. I am grateful that Hermine will recover again and I know already that I will miss her. She is such a sweetie!!!

1/13   Today was Hermine’s free flying day in the bedroom and she mastered it with bravery. Look at that cheeky little creature – higher you cannot fly:

0115x0018her
0115x0019her
0115x0020her
0115x0021her
0115x0022her
0115x0023her
0115x0024her
0115x0025her
0115x0026her
0115x0028her
0115x0029her

1/15   Another day for Hermine’s training. She is doing really well, exploring everything she can and I am sure that she will be out again soon!

~~~

 

1 Comment »

  1. Glad to see that Hermine is doing fine! Do you think that her wing will ever return to its natural position?

    Comment by Colombine — April 6, 2014 @ 8:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

