Pigeon Tales

April 3, 2014

Two new Squeakers in the Gang, Jimi is Egg sitting and a new Patient

From the

Diary as of 12/16 – 12/31/2013

12/16   Nothing special. They are battling about nest material. It’s always so funny to watch who is going to win most of the cardboard stripes. Everybody tries to get them quicker than the other…

12/17   Micky was the first to start the new breeding cycle: she laid her first egg #37. The others are late already.

Woodie and Maggie are cuddling. It is so sweet to see them sitting tightly together on the nest and “talking” to each other very softly. So it won’t be long until Maggie is laying again.

Bathing day for Pina and Rudi. As Pina did not want to fly out – for several days now – I thought I might give her a nice bath so that she does not get bored. She could hardly wait until I had the water in it. I put the bathtub on the floor and she jumped into it although there was no water yet. It always looks so funny when she does this and then looks at me with such a reproachfull look in her eyes as if she wanted to say: ” hey, hurry up Mommy – don’t be always so slow – I want my bath!!!”  That gives me always a good chuckle especially when she makes splish-splash immediately with nearly a somersault…

Btw – Rudi had his bath in the late afternoon after 3 °clock when it started to get dark already!!! It was ice cold but he loved it nevertheless.

12/18   Pina flew out today after she had preferred not to do so for about 2 weeks. Apparently she did not feel like it but today she went out for an hour or so. I was relieved to see her this happy.

Maggie laid her first egg #33.

12/19   Micky laid her second egg #38 and so I could exchange them with the plaster eggs.

12/20   Maggie laid her second egg #34 and as usual perfect little eggs. Also exchanged them by plaster eggs.

12/21   Jimi and Fifi are still together. Much longer than I anticipated. I am so happy for them both. The weather is unusually mild so Jimi seems to enjoy the time outside.

12/22   Jimi and Fifi are still heavily cuddling and grooming each other. This is really very nice after Jimi left his wife alone so long during the last breeding cycle. But then he did not feel very well. Now it is completely different.

Micky has canker. I saw her vomiting once last week already but it stopped totally. So I thought that it was nothing. This morning though she sat on the edge of the large food box and vomited heavily. So I snatched her, checked her mouth, discovered the red colour inside and gave her a Spartrix.

12/23   Finally  Fifi laid her first egg #13 and it is perfect as usual.

Gave Micky her secoond Spartrix in the evening.

We have 2 new squeakers in the gang. I don’t know who the parents are but we named them Norman and Herbert. As usual they are mobbed by the others and more then once I have to intervene when they are attacked too heavily. Norman is really funny because he squeaks his soul out of his little body when someone gets near. He was very skinny but now that he has learned to come inside and to find lots of food here he is doing very well.

12/24   Jimi took up his turns of egg sitting. He comes inside though during the morning in order to enjoy his peace in our bedroom while the gang on the balcony makes the usual chaos.

12/25   Micky seems to be totally okay again besides that she is stargazing quite heavily again. But when she finds a place inside where she has her peace = when Rudi is sitting on the eggs she stops again. Poor Micky – she is getting into stress very easily but then she is naturally already a very nervous bird and always was. I hate it when she needs to be handled because she always makes such a fuss but a few minutes later she behaves as if nothing had happened.

Fifi laid her second egg #14.

The weather is still quite unusually mild and due to the forecast there is no real winter in sight currently. I have never experienced so much light at this time of the year. Normally the days are grey and dark. But this year everything is different. My chrysanthemes are growing like crazy and I don’t really like this because the winter is coming in some time. There is always winter here and very cold. And this will kill the new shoots again. Bummer…

12/26   Today is a typical winter day: cold, wet and dark. And the pijjies seek shelter on our balcony of course and are pooping as usual: much, wet, smelly.

12/27   The sun is out again – oh miracle. And the pijjies are tortured by spring feelings…

12/28   Feeding chaos again. I had to laugh today because little squeaky Norman ate that much that you could see his little crop bulge like a belly. This reminded me very much of Gino when he once was that hungry baby.

12/29   Norman and Herbert are still here and eating with the others. But they don’t squeak any more – they are “grown up” now – LOL. They don’t know yet that one of the worst nights will arrive soon…

12/31   Betty is still sitting on the same plaster eggs: now since 74 days!!! This is an absolute record in our pigeon gang. My only explanation is that she is afraid that one of the other pijjies on the balcony could occupy her house which has once been Emma’s house.

We have a new patient: Hermine, a juvenile maybe 1/2 year old, heavily moulting with an injured wing.

This morning when I fed our balcony gang I realized that there was a new pigeon with a wing problem. First I thought it was Droopy – the one with an old wing injury and drooping wing but doing fine with it since more than a year now. The new wing injury came inside and ate together with the others. Later I realized that she was still on the balcony, trying to hide from the others. It was not Droopy. So I took her in – she did not even try to escape really and I put her into one of my boxes to give her the opportunity to get a bit used to us.

Later I examined her, realized that her right wing was injured – there was some fresh blood – but I could not feel a broken bone. Besides some fresh blood though there were also parts on her right side just beneath the first joint of the wing and on the wing itself which were already garishly green from the bruises.  So the injury was not quite fresh. I cleaned the injured part of the wing as good as I could and disinfected the whole area with peroxide. Afterwards I applied an antibiotic ointment (Neosporin).

0103x0007her

0103x0009her

0106x0006her

I am not sure whether this was a bite from a predator – to me it looked rather as if the bird was trapped somewhere and injured himself by trying to free himself. I really don’t know. I could not see any puncture wounds but then the whole area was so swollen that no details were recognisable. Due to the first signs of canker in her mouth I gave her a Spartrix. I am not sure though whether I should really put her on Antibiotics as the injury was not new. Have to wait until the swelling has come down to make a decision.

I am dreading tonight when all the rocket noise is starting.

(Tonight WAS dreadful with all the noise. To me it sounded as if we were in the middle of a war. Terrible. We closed the windows, put the shutters down and went to bed at 11.30 out of protest. While my partner fell asleep soon despite the noise I could not sleep of course. I went outside several times to check on the birds and of course they were quite in panic. Poor pijjies. We had a thick fog so you could not really see very much but the noise was deafening nevertheless. It went on and on until past 1 °clock. Thank heaven it is nearly over. Some idiots have not realized yet that silvester night is over and still are shooting rockets and make a lot of noise. Hopefully this is ending soon. It drives me nuts and makes my heart beat like crazy)

~~~

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

