Pigeon Tales

November 8, 2013

Pina’s Birthday, a Miracle and Betty is limping

Filed under: behaviour,birds,bite,Fifi,INJURIES,Jimi,morph,new egg,photos,PIGEON,Pina,rescue,squeaker — pigeonwriter @ 6:47 pm
Tags: , ,

From the

Diary as of 7/21 – 8/6/2013

7/21   It is Pina’s birthday today!!!! My sweet little baby has turned 4 years! Oh my – I still can remember those times when she hardly made it to her first birthday when she was scalped and badly injured by a foreign pigeon who wanted to steal and occupy the nest of Pina and her little brother Peppi. And then came that awful PMV infection where she was sick for many months and where we thought that she would never be able to fly again if she would survive at all. I dearly wish that she will have a long and happy life from now on. Happy Birthday, my little princess! loveFifi laid her first egg #3 in her new house!

7/22   Maggie laid her first egg #25. Oh my – time flies by…

7/23   Fifi laid her second egg #4. She is also creating perfect little eggs!

7/24   Maggie laid her second egg #26.

7/25   Now it’s Micky‘s turn: she laid her first egg #27. I wished she would give her body a longer pause as Pina does.

7/26   I forgot to tell you that we have two new little ones – the kids of Sandy and Adele with breathtaking colours. Amanda – with colours I have never seen in our area:

0610x0007ama
0612x0009ama

Amanda’s sibling is Vroni:

0612x0011amavro
0612x0010amavro
0612x0018amavro
0612x0012amavro
0612x0013amavro
0612x0014amavro
0612x0015amavro
0612x0016amavro
0612x0017amavro

And here are some pics with Sandy and his kids together:

0621x0069san+
0621x0066sanama
0621x0067san+
0621x0068san+

7/27   Pina is still not laying. After she and Rudi started to build their nest again now for the 3rd time without Pina laying, I thought I might try something different and put one of the plaster eggs into her nest. I had the impression that Rudi became somehow frustrated that he had nothing to “sit on” because he went to the nest and sat there for quite a while as if Pina had laid an egg. And Pina became somehow stressed also because no egg wanted to appear. So why not help them with a simple trick. Since the plaster egg is in the nest they both behave normal again and are very content. Oh my – now I am also a pigeon-shrink!!!

Micky laid her second egg # 28.

7/29   Jimi is totally happy with his Fifi. Did I tell you that I built a wooden house for them also, similar to the one that Gino and Micky have? It took less than 2 hours until Jimi and Fifi claimed it to be their own. They simply loved it. Also Jimi has started to sit on my knee again to have his meals there. He has become even more trustful towards me and defends his seat when anyone else is trying to sit on my knee. Oh my…

0717x0022jimfi

0717x0023jimihouse

Both are very tolerant when I exchange their eggs for the plaster eggs and have no problem to sit on the fakes. Fifi is also very trustful and always wants to eat on my knees as well. How sweet is that?

7/31   Btw – regarding Fifi’s foot/toes – it healed completely!!! I really don’t know how this is possible with a broken tendon but apparently she somehow can cope with it. Since WEEKS I haven’t seen her curling her toes – instead the toes are perfectly normal and she can walk as if never anything had happened. It appears like a miracle to me and I am dearly happy about this.

0607x0047fifijimi

this was the original condition in June – curling toes

8/3   We had another nearly patient – it was Nermel – with both feet bound together but thank heaven there was no damage done yet – not even a swelling and the job was easy. I don’t know what this little bugger was up to but apparently he had been too curious and went somewhere where he shouldn’t. I hate people who just shake their carpets on the balcony never thinking a bit what consequences this might have. I can only repeat again and again – these string injuries are terrible. They are mostly not only long time healing wounds but pigeons who are unlucky suffer extremely from pain and infections. PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU DO WITH YOUR CARPETS ETC!!!

8/5   What else? Berty and Babsi were here again. Berty is the one with only 3 toes left. All others have fallen off. I only could help him several months ago when one of his remaining toes was still bound. Poor little fellow – I wished I had met him before this all happened. He is such a beautiful one – totally black with huge eyes.

Tonight I have to check what’s the matter with Betty’s left leg – she is limping heavily. I very much hope that it is nothing serious and that I can help her quickly. We will see.

8/6   I checked Betty’s leg yesterday evening: it must have been broken some time ago. I could not detect any injury on the surface of the skin but when I felt her bone thoroughly I detected a “sharp” edge where there should have been smooth bone. So I think it was broken but the bone did not align cleanly. It healed but apparently she still had some problems with it. So I gave her some extra Calcium and massaged the leg with DMSO. Repeated this procedure after 2 days with positive results. No limping any more. And another pleasant development – Betty becomes a little more trusting: she even flew on the shelf – sitting next to Pina…

0802x0071betty

0802x0072pinabetty

~~~

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

