Pigeon Tales

May 26, 2013

Worrying severely about Jimi

From the

Diary as of 3/9 – 3/16/2013

3/9  Still treating Jimi with careful face wash each morning in order to soften up the crusts around his mouth and after feeding again plus applying some Bach Flower Rescue cream to support the healing process.

3/10   Poor Jimi – it is still the same picture of a suffering bird. I cannot imagine how much pain he had to go through. I try to comfort him by talking to him softly all the time whenever I can in between my work.

3/11   All other pijjies are okay – so at least nothing to worry about there…

3/12   Today Jimi started to breathe very heavily. His airsack in the front pumped heavily and he was breathing with a slightly open beak. His back was curved and this told me that he had really problems to breathe. I was very worried and a bit clueless what I should do. Also my computer died and I could not even ask someone else what to do.

3/13   This morning I could open Jimi’s beak a bit further and was able to look inside his mouth and discovered a lot of pus. I was shocked. Obviously he was even more severly injured than I thought. Now I feared that the inflammation might spread even further and put him immediately on Baytril. Thank heaven I have always some in house due to my dear friend Teresa. I also realized that his nostrils were completely closed with pus – no wonder that he had problems to breathe.

So I continued the program, face wash in the morning either with Chamomille tea or Bach Flower Rescue drops in warm water, feeding, then medication, creaming his nose with Bach Flower cream to soften the hard crusts and support the healing process. In the evening I gave him some yoghurt in his cereal to keep his digestion working. When the antibiotics would be finished he would get pro-biotics of course. So far his digestion was good.

Micky laid her first egg #17 and Pina also her first egg #77  of this breeding cycle.

3/14  I am very worried about Jimi. He is leaving his box to sit near the large Buddha statue but he is still breathing heavily. This is really painful for me to see. I am so sad about the whole situtation and at the same time so angry about the other pigeon. He had his second portion of Baytril though. I hope that the antibiotics will help soon to overcome the infection.

3/15   Micky laid her second egg#18  and Pina hers #78. Both girls made perfect eggs.

3/16   Jimi is on day 4 with the antibiotics and his breathing seems to become a tiny bit better.

I still have no photos of Jimi because I am simply too shocked about the whole situtation and what happened to him. I would never have thought that this could happen to a large and strong bird he is. I still wonder whether his opponent is dead – he must have suffered severe injuries as well…

~~~

2 Comments »

  1. Get well soon, Jimi.

    Comment by Young Okazaki — May 26, 2013 @ 11:20 pm | Reply

    • Oh thank you – Jimi says. In the meanwhile he has fully recovered – you will see…

      Comment by pigeonwriter — May 29, 2013 @ 11:28 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

