Pigeon Tales

April 29, 2013

Emma laid awful Eggs and Jimi has a PMV Relapse

From the

Diary as of 1/28 – 2/1/2013

1/28   Emma laid her first egg#104 and Maggie as well. Hers is #13. While Maggie’s egg was perfect Emma laid quite a bad one again.  There was a bit blood INSIDE the egg. But at least it did not break. The shell was a bit thin but it came out in one piece.

0129x0053egg1emma
0129x0051egg1emma
0129x0052egg1emma

1/29   Jimi came late in the afternoon  – which he sometimes does – and I thought he wanted to eat as usual (which he did the day before) and then would leave again. He did not want to eat though  but only sat in the sandbox and gave no sign that he wanted to leave again. So I knew something was wrong. I put him in one of the boxes I am always using for sick pigeons and where Rudi and Pina are also sleeping in. I intended to keep him inside to see how his poops would look like in the morning and check whether he would eat and drink something. He drank some water but did not touch the seeds at all. His poops looked terrible, all mushy, dark brown-greenish with urinates around and a larger water part (see photos).

0129x0049jimi

poops after first night

0130x0003jimi

poops after second night

0130x0001jimi
0130x0002jimi

As he did not want to eat this morning either I gave him millet cereal with joghurt and applesauce for lunch and another portion this evening. His digestion was low, he was very calm, a bit puffed up and perched most of the time on his little saucer. His feet were warm so I refrained from giving him extra heat for the moment which might have been too much for him. His poops were still looking the same – shitty!

I wondered whether this was a sort of PMV relapse because the poops looked exactly like those of Pina and Willy when they were in the middle of a full PMV infection – not the spaghetti poops – but the mushy stuff they made from time to time.

I did not want to give him antibiotics unnecessarily when this could be resolved with propolis and probiotics. When I gave him the cereal for lunch the tube went easily into his crop. So there was no obstruction from the tumor which I feared first.

1/30   This morning I gave Jimi Propolis (on a homemade pellet and Bene Bac (probiotic).

Emma laid her second egg#105 and this time it was better. The shell was strong but very rough and there was no blood inside the egg. Maggie laid her second egg #14. A perfect one as usual.

1/31   Jimi is still sick but doing a bit better. His poops were still looking like those typical PMV poops – spaghetti-like and a large puddle of water additionally but at least the colour was better. Today he started to preen himself and he showed more interest in his seeds but did not eat any. I was still tube feeding him though to give him extra fluid and easy digestion: millet baby cereal with applesauce, polenta (corn semolina), joghurt and 2 drops of organic rapeseed oil, for breakfast, lunch and supper.

Look at this sweet chap:

0131x0006jimi
0131x0001jimi
0131x0002jimi
0131x0003jimi
0131x0004jimi
0131x0005jimi

Pina is such a treasure and angel. For quite a while she sat in front of Jimi’s box again, apparently to comfort him as she does with any sick creature, bird or human. I love her so much for her kind heart!!! Btw – Jimi is Pina’s uncle.

0131x0059jimipina
0131x0060jimipina

In the morning, while Gino was still on his hanging pot outside, I played with him again. So funny, as he learned the fencing game from me and Pina, he loves to play with me exactly the same way  and is really disappointed when I have to go. What a sweet little chap.

2/1   I think I have good news and am quite sure now that Jimi has the same PMV relapse in a mild form as our Pina and Micky. Other than the ladies with stargazing etc. he has it via his digestion. The poops from the night looked completely different and rather like the typical PMV – spaghetti poops. Also the colour has changed from that very dark olive green to rather light olive green. The quantity told me that he digested everything I gave him yesterday evening. So no slow crop any more. During this morning he made even better poops, more formed, not so much water again.

The poops he made before did smell only a tiny bit and only after smearing them a bit on the paper – now they are not smelling at all or are smelling normal.

Jimi also looked different today – not so tired any more and he had interest in his seeds again. I cannot say how much he ate after his cereal this morning but a few definitely went into his crop. I think in a few days he wants to leave again. Yesterday he just wanted his peace and nothing else. I know him. He was like this already as a baby.

So I am quite optimistic that Jimi will be his old self  again soon. What a clever boy that he came immediately back to his mommy when he felt bad. But then I had asked for his promise to do so the last time when he was sick!!

It is strange that our pigeons here (the ones from the balcony) do not seem to suffer from the ailments other people are so often describing. Worm infestation apparently is not a problem here and coccidia neither, at least not in a pathogenic form. I am relieved about this. I don’t want to have more patients. It’s been enough. Maybe it’s the regular good food and clean ACV water that helps them to develop an intact immune system. My greatest wish is that this will stay as it is. There is nothing more sad than a sick creature…

~~~

4 Comments »

  1. Do you ever use a drop of apple cider vinegar in their drinking water? Racing pigeon owners swear by it. I put a tiny drop in my own pigeon’s water dish once a week and dilute it. Normal amount is 1 – 2 teaspoons of cider vinegar to a gallon of water.

    ‘Apple Cider Vinegar has been invaluable age old secret within the racing pigeon world for decades. Its vitamin contents include A, E, G B1, B2, B6, pro vitamin Beta-carotene and many more.

    Apple Cider Vinegar has been known to have numerous health benefits, it can fight infection, help prevent sickness, promote digestion, acts as an anti-fungal and has a gentle detoxification agent. It can help boost the immune system and is a natural organic, anti-bacterial, and anti-coccidian.

    In a week of using Apple Cider Vinegar the general plumage can become soft and shiny, the birds look great and their feathers feel soft and silky to the touch.

    Do not use in galvanised containers.’

    best wishes
    Laura

    Comment by posttraumaticcommuter — April 29, 2013 @ 9:46 am | Reply

    • Hi Laura,
      I regularly use ACV in their water – each day and every time I refill the water pots. Due to our very hard water I use a tablespoon full of ACV in 3/4 l water. I only use organic ACV which is the only stuff that contains the real mother of vinegar. My pigeons would not drink the conventional stuff anyway – they can differentiate!!!

      Comment by pigeonwriter — April 29, 2013 @ 10:01 am | Reply

  2. I like the valuable information you provide on your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m moderately sure I’ll be informed a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the following!

    Comment by Karry — April 29, 2013 @ 1:08 pm | Reply

  3. Hi. I was pretty confident you’d already be using it, and if I’d checked again on the side bar to your blog I’d have seen this was the case!! Good luck with Jimi.

    Comment by posttraumaticcommuter — April 29, 2013 @ 3:53 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

