Pigeon Tales

February 23, 2013

Strange Poop and Sandy has a Crop Rupture

Filed under: birds,crop rupture,documentary,HEALTH and DESEASES,INJURIES,PIGEON,poop — pigeonwriter @ 6:05 pm
Tags:

I am very behind my posts again so here is an update now:

From the

Diary as of 11/26 – 11/30/2012

11/26   Nothing special to report besides found some very strange poop on our balcony balustrade and I made some pics. I have never seen something like that before – no smell btw. Questioning other people who have some experience with pigeons did not really help.

My suspicion was that the poop was simply from some dark berries the pigeon might have been eaten for lack of other food???? The consistency was relatively thin – therefore I smeared it on a piece of kitchen paper to be able to photograph it properly. I could not detect any worms and it did not look like intestinal blood to me…

1202x0039
1202x0037
1202x0038

11/27   Something is wrong with Sandy. Cannot determine what it is yet.

11/29   I caught Sandy today. I observed him making the penguin stance for 2 days now after drinking and I wanted to check him out what was wrong. Also I saw that there were some feathers on his crop standing away slightly. When I had him on my table, I realized that he had a crop rupture, about 3 cm wide, horizontally in the middle of his crop . The wound must have been already a few days old (I had not seen him for a few days before), some dried seeds sticking in and around the wound but could not see any open hole into the crop itself. So the only thing I did was filling the hole with holy ashes from Sai Baba, pulling softly his feathers over the hole again and released him.

I checked his mouth, I checked his poop – there were no signs of an infection. He was eating with great appetite, courting other females, flying around and behaving as if nothing had happened. Only when he was drinking he was very upright afterwards as if he had to let the water run slowly down his crop. His feathers around the wound were totally dry and clean – so apparently there was no leakage from the wound.

I will observe him further but I think this time I thought it was better to leave him alone (other than the case with Loki where the wound was fresh and the seeds falling out of his crop. If I only knew what had happened to him. He is a very cautious bird and it took him a long time until he dared to come in for the first time.

Poor Sandy – I wished I could have helped him better but if I had started to remove all the old dried stuff (which will eventually fall off by itself anyway) I would have hurt him much more and put him under enormous stress. It is not easy to make a decision such as this one but these birds are strong when healthy and living in the open forces them to help themselves. So human intervention is not always applicable.

11/30   Sandy seems to do very well, eating and drinking still with penguin stance. I still leave him alone but will continue toobserve him.

~~~

2 Comments »

  1. Poor Sandy, I hope he totally heals. I have a pigeon, Patience, that I am looking after and think may have a damaged crop, but she is getting better. I wondered why you hadn’t posted for a while, as I enjoy reading about your birds.

    Comment by anniefaith — February 23, 2013 @ 8:09 pm | Reply

  2. Hi Annie – thank you for your comment. I simply don’t always find the time to post … but I am keeping the diary in its raw form every day.

    Comment by pigeonwriter — February 24, 2013 @ 6:56 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

