Pigeon Tales

October 17, 2012

Rudi injured his Toe badly

From the

Diary as of 6/30 – 7/3/2012

6/30   Rudi heavily injured the middle toe on his bad foot – the one where he already lost one toe. He must either have got stuck somewhere and while trying to free himself he broke the nail. This means the toe was bleeding heavily and the nail had a twist downwards.

I cut off most of the nail because he could not really walk without being in pain – the result was even more bleeding of course but I had to do it. I could stop the bleeding with peroxide and made a bandage around his toe.

7/1   Today the toe was bleeding again through the bandage – apparently he had bumped it again – so I needed to renew the bandage. The toe was a bit swollen in the meanwhile and to my horror the nail came off completely – more bleeding of course because the inner mark of the nail was bare now. This was really a problem as I knew that this would continue to bleed as soon as he bumped it again.

This time – when I had stopped the bleeding – I applied several drops of propolis on the wound and the whole toe. I hoped that the resin would close the wound and work on the potential bacteria. I waited and held him until the stuff was dry and did not stick too much any more and made a new bandage with a plaster for sensitive skin. (This works perfectly btw. because it is stiff enough to hold everything and soft enough so that there is no pressure on the wound)

This time it was apparently so good that he could walk and even run nearly without any limping. There was no bleeding till the next day. So I left it as it was.

7/3   Today I wanted to renew the bandage and was quite nervous how the toe would look like. It looked good. What a relief. The swelling was a bit down and the wound dry. I applied more drops of propolis and made a new bandage again. I planned to leave it alone again for 2 days.

~~~

1 Comment »

  1. I hope he is feeling better! Poor guy 😦

    Comment by icooyou — October 19, 2012 @ 12:35 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

