Pigeon Tales

May 14, 2012

Hatty released herself and Emma laid another awful Egg

From the

Diary as of 3/9 – 3/15/2012

3/9   Our Hatty released herself today from her hospital box. After giving her this morning the fourth portion of Calcivet I realized that she was standing most of the time during the day.
This afternoon I was so tired that I took a nap for an hour and when I was up again and went into the living room I saw a pigeon on the floor, thought that I might have forgotten to let her out again after feeding and did only realize that it was Hatty after she was gone!!!
So this little bugger had enough energy and guts to escape from her box by jumping on the ledge of the box, crawl through the opening under the crocheted tablecloth I had put on the box and waited for me to open the door.

Oh my – I love these quick recoveries. The downside is that I don’t have a single pic of her and I did not band her yet because I wanted to do this on Sunday when I planned to release her. Now I will have difficulties to recognize her again when she comes feeding again…:(

3/10   The next day Hatty came in for feeding and of course I recognized her without the band. She was walking still a bit with stiff legs and her prominent cere was immediately recognizable. So I decided to catch her in the next days when she would come in again and finally band her. And I took some photos of her:

3/11   Today was weighing day again: Micky had 343 gr although I did not feed her any more, Pina had 359 gr which is a bit less than usual, Gino had 301 gr which was also a few grams less than the last time but nothing to worry about.

3/12   Yippeee – we have some new squeakers: 2 of them and completely black. They are so beautiful. Without any fear they came in and munched their seeds together with all the others. And I finally managed to take some photos from Sandy – he did not dare to come in until now!!!

Sandy with the awsome colour:

 

3/13   When Hatty came in today I caught her and banded her. Now she is wearing a white band on her left leg!

3/14   Emma laid an awful egg#86 –  again on the balcony floor. According to her behaviour she was okay although the contents of the egg were completely spilled but apparently there was nothing in her body. I gave her Calcivet – realized that the dosis I gave to the pijjies was much too low – switched from 2 drops to about 0.4 – 0.5 ml. This is even less than the dosage that is recommended on the bottle (0.1-0.2 ml per 100 gr bodyweight depending on the water they drink). But as our pigeons eat also grit and get calcium with the food I reduced the dosage a bit because I give it directly into the bird’s mouth and not with the food or water.

Emma was completely exchanged after the larger dosage of Calcium – it seemed to be like a fountain of youth. This means for me that I gave her not enough all the past months. No wonder that she laid shitty eggs. Poor Emma!!! And I am such an idiot.

3/15   I found a damaged egg on the balcony and I believe it was from Micky because it was lying exactly where Micky often sits with her new boyfriend. Apparently they have not found a good place for the nest yet – so I wonder how this will continue.

~~~

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

