Pigeon Tales

December 12, 2010

Charly is leaving the nest for the first time

From the

Diary as of  6/23  – 7/4/10

6/23 Emma started to lay again – it is egg #48.

6/25 Emma laid egg #49.

Nothing special these days other than Mr. Bossy is continuing to nerve anyone, be it human or pijjie. I don’t know how this is going on….

6/26 Lilly, Mr.Bossy’s mate,  laid an egg on the concrete on the balcony – I put it away. I pity her because she really is a nice pijjie but I definitely cannot let her lay eggs on the balcony otherwise this pair will stay here forever and molest Pete and Emma.

6/27 Today Pauline (Paulchen’s wife)  lost her egg on the balcony on the middle of the balustrade. I saw her pushing it – she seemed to be quite in pain. I unfortunately forgot the camera. I had big pity with Pauline but what could I have done? These pijjies need to find their own places for a nest but not on the balcony. But why she pushed it out on the balustrade is a mysterium for me. Why didn’t they look for a nest place?

Weighing day:   Pina 327 gr, Winnie 337 gr

Winnie was flying around like crazy and she got more and more tired. I don’t know why she tries with all force to get out. I had to put her into her box twice so that she could calm down. Regularly she is still getting seizures after feeding. Poor little girl.

6/28 Charly jumped out of his nest for the first time! He is developping magnificently. He is sooooo sweet. His belly is now covered with feathers and he can walk already quite quickly. He is so curious!

On these photos Charly is 12 days old:

Winny had the first day without cramps and stargazing since a long time. She also has started to pick up seeds and she can eat at least the small ones by herself. This is hope!

Our Winnie is currently going through many ups and downs. One day she makes a huge jump ahead and then the next day she starts vomiting again and flies in uncontrolled circles. Sometimes I think her ambition to fly free again is so big that she overdoes everything, gets totally nervous with the result that I have to put her into her box for one hour or so to give her some peace again. On the bottomline she has made big progress too but it will probably take a lot of time still until she can be released as well. But then she has been with us “only” 4 months. What had seemed to be “only” a bacterial infection at the beginning turned out to be PMV as well. Poor baby. No wonder with all the stress she had before.  I think that extreme stress can cause an outbreak. It is the same with humans when the vegetative nerve system is breaking down and with it the immune system.

Winnie has a new nickname: I call her “Miss Houdini” now because she tries all tricks to escape. I have to be very careful.

Currently I am very glad that Pina is extremely sensible. I let her out after breakfeast in the morning and – since she is flying free – returns around lunchtime. I leave her indoors then till the next morning and she seems quite content with this arrangement. This way she can slowly increase her power and gain self-confidence.

6/29 Replaced Emma’s eggs today – one was damaged at one end??? But I think it was an accident not a sign of lack of calcium.

7/4 Here are some more pics from our darling Charly:

~

Our Winnie is currently going through many ups and downs. One day she makes a huge jump ahead and then the next day she starts vomiting again and flies in uncontrolled circles. Sometimes I think her ambition to fly free again is so big that she overdoes everything, gets totally nervous with the result that I have to put her into her box for one hour or so to give her some peace again. On the bottomline she has made big progress too but it will probably take a lot of time still until she can be released as well. But then she has been with us “only” 4 months. What had seemed to be “only” a bacterial infection turned out to be PMV as well. Poor baby. No wonder with all the stress she had before. This makes me believe btw that my vet was right in saying that all ferals have the PMV virus latently. And I think that extreme stress can cause an outbreak. It is the same with humans when the vegetative nerve system is breaking down and with it the immune system.

Currently I am very glad that Pina is extremely sensible. I let her out after breakfeast in the morning and – since she is flying free – returns around lunchtime. I leave her indoors then till the next morning and she seems quite content with this arrangement. This way she can slowly increase her power and gain self-confidence.

2 Comments »

  1. Petra…I love your blog and I’m glad you have had the opportunity to update.

    In reading through it though…I do take issue with the following comment. I’m not trying to be confrontational but it makes no sense to me…it’s not even logical to my thinking … I think your vet is very misinformed.

    [b]This makes me believe btw that my vet was right in saying that all ferals have the PMV virus latently. [/b]

    Comment by Charis — December 12, 2010 @ 5:35 pm | Reply

    • Charis – thank you so much for taking time to answer. I know you are not confrontational and my first reaction was just the same as yours. But then the vet said that she was working on many scientific test series in the university bird clinic near to Munich. So what should I respond to that? I do not know the details of course, maybe it is a string of PMV that is widely spread in this area – I don’t know. At that point of time I did not have the experience to ask more detailed questions. Maybe the pigeons here have developed a certain immunity to the virus and that may be the reason why not more sick birds appeared on our balcony. And that may be also the reason why our PMV survivors conquered the sickness 100 % which is quite unusual to what I have read. I REALLY DON’T KNOW.

      Comment by pigeonwriter — December 13, 2010 @ 10:31 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

