Pigeon Tales

December 29, 2009

Pina and Peppi are back, cold Weather and a feeding Chaos

Filed under: behaviour,birds,documentary,moult,Peppi,photos,PIGEON,Pina,THE FAMILY — pigeonwriter @ 3:47 pm

From the

Diary as of  10/7 – 10/19/09

10/7 Hurray – Peppi and Pina appeared on the balcony very early, in good mood, but very hungry. So they were together at least during the night. Today they came in very early:  5 °clock already. Apparently Hotel Mama is much better that the world outside.

10/9 Peppi is heavily moulting still – he has lost at least 3 tail feathers…he looks like a little vulture…

10/10 We had a little visitor sleeping in pigeon city again: a very young black pigeon and a very thin one. How sweet – she obviously seeked some shelter and here she found it and some food. Pete and Willy did not chase her away – thank heavens.

10/11 I have another trick: in the evening I put a plate with food outside – so the ones who are so hungry are busy while I can feed Pete and Willy some more sunflower hearts.

10/12 We have very bad weather now and it is getting cold.

10/15 We had 6 visitors sleeping in pigeoncity tonight – it is very cold – nearly 0°C – I did some more pigeon feeding – was quite chaotic – they all jumped on me – Jimi was on my arm.

I think Pina and Peppi were glad to be home safe and warm.

10/16 This night 7 visitors were sleeping in pigeoncity.  This evening I had the feeling the whole flock wanted to sleep here on the balcony which caused a lot of chaos, noise and I had to chase them away in order to save Pete and Willy from too much stress. You would not believe but it took me more than an hour to achieve some calming down. It was quite awful. I mean it is nice to know that they are just seeking a safe shelter here but our own family is suffering from the stress so I have to take action.

10/17 It is getting better with the feeding. There are not as many pijjies coming as before where we had the absolute chaos. Fluttering around my head, jumping on me and sometimes I had 6-7 pijjies on my hands at the same time all climbing over one another. Quite funny but on the other hand they are becoming quite aggressive towards each other which I do not like at all. So I definitely have to do something about it.

10/19 This morning I tried to cut down the feeding in order to diminish the stress being put on our own pigeon family but I just did not have the guts to disappoint them. Oh – how they look at you, full of hope to snatch some corn and seeds. It is very cold at the moment and I just did not have the heart to chase them all away. What should I do, what should I do???

.

.

1 Comment »

  1. You are so kind and sweet to your pigeons. They are adorable! Is that a nest in that hanging container? Also you have a great view from your balcony!

    Comment by Donna — January 13, 2010 @ 6:20 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

