Pigeon Tales

October 26, 2009

Pete is limping and Peppi is naughty (6 weeks)

From the

Diary as of  9/1 – 9/3/09

9/1 Pete is still limping a bit but it is definitely better than yesterday. So I don’t think I need to be worried.

I cannot believe my eyes: Peppi mounted Pina and this at a tender age of 6 weeks!!!! I have the proof on photo!! What the hell  did they put into those pills they had to eat these days??? I really want to know.

0901x0004ppThe Ritual

0901x0005pp…continues

0901x0006pp…mounting…

0901x0007ppThe climax

.

9/2 The vitamins finally arrived. All pijjies seem to love that stuff. I put it into the drinking water. We’ll see whether it does them good. I really hope so.

For the first time I offered them peanuts today. I crushed them of course because in total they would be much too big of course. But it’s not a problem and easily done in my mortar. This I have also learned from the Pij’n Angels Forum. So I gave it a try. I would never have had this idea. The result:

Pete and Emma love the crushed peanuts – Willy and Winnie are reluctant, so are the babies. But who knows… Pijjies are always very conservative – they are very careful when it comes to try new things. But I find this excellent. Better to be careful than regret it later.

9/3 Day begins as usual: up 6:30 and letting the pijjies out on the balcony. It is quite dark and it is raining – so they are not very eager to go. But half an hour later it brightens up and both, Pina and Peppi, are flying around, coming back, having their breakfast and are out again.

They love the little foodie pots in the hanging flower pots where it is easier for them to defend their food – LOL.

Peppi is already courting his mom – besides Pina – and receives a slap with the wing for his cockiness!

I did not check the babies again. Their behaviour tells me that they are doing very well. They eat like a horse, they drink with deep gulps and they fly around like stunt pilots. You can really see how much joy that is for them. I do not want to distress them if there is no signal for a problem.

Whenever I have the opportunity – while I give Pina her little strokes or when I “fight” with Peppi – who has become quite snappy – I touch their bellies to feel whether there might be a problem.  And there isn’t. They have conquered the canker and they are healthy happy little pijjies who enjoy their young life! Oh how happy I am to see them doing so well. I love them so much…

.

4 Comments »

  1. hi there.

    I have a question, I rescued two pigeons, named them Walnut and Peanut, and they live together in a very large dog cage. Walnut does not perch, nor does he ever try to fly, and Peanut flies and perches. Ever since I got them, they have been really mean to each other, picking and getting into fights. but just recently their behavior has completely changed. They have started grooming each other, i have not seen any humping going on yet, do you think they trying to mate?

    Thank you for your help. 🙂 Olga

    Comment by Olga — October 28, 2009 @ 11:04 pm | Reply

    • Olga, thank you so much for rescuing these birds. Are you sure that they are male and female? If yes please provide them a simple nestbowl – can be a shallow planting pot and some material such as dry hey, or little twigs and things like that. They don’t need much.
      If they are not a couple but equal sexed it could be that they just started to like each other. Pigeons are very social birds and in captivity they would just groom each other no matter which sex. They do that normally right from the beginning as hatchlings even if they are 2 males or 2 females.

      Comment by pigeonwriter — October 30, 2009 @ 6:06 pm | Reply

  2. Oh, to be able to have a beautiful, happy flock like yours! Sometimes, living in the city is “for the birds”, cuz it’s not possible to have a bird in an apartment. I envy you. But how wonderful to be able to at least READ your wonderful story!Keep it up!

    “They greet the morning, cooing softly…
    They soar past mountains, regal, lofty…
    Their heart is joyful all the day…
    It is their Lot..
    It is their way!….”

    Comment by lindylou — November 8, 2009 @ 4:18 am | Reply

    • Hi lindylou, thank you for your kind comment. I am very happy with these birds and they bring a lot of joy.

      Comment by pigeonwriter — November 9, 2009 @ 4:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

