Pigeon Tales

September 7, 2009

Another nearly Attack from the Bastard Pij (12/13 days)

From the

Diary as of  8/2/ – 8/4/09

8/2 The injuries of Pina and Peppi are healing. Still I cannot be sure that everything will be okay. I have a close eye on the little ones. I am extremely alert. How deep may that shock be? Will it be an obstacle for their development. Who knows…

Winnie leaves the babies alone for the first night – she is sitting on the second nest – probably an egg – I don’t know yet. How can she? This is not good but maybe she knows better – I am not sure. The moment chosen is not the best. The babies are now 12 and 13 days old.

Pina and Peppi have started to pick. They imitate their parents but of course they cannot eat yet on their own.

8/3 Winnie sits on an egg which is #7 and Emma has laid another one – egg #28 . She tries to trick me because she is sitting on 3 eggs now – but I realized and removed it!!!!! There will be no oops baby!! 😳

8/4 I do not believe this but there has been another nearly attack!!!!!!!!

You will not believe this but the bastard pij came back today to finish up his job.
I was sitting at the computer and suddenly heard the babies scream. As I knew that they had been fed 5 minutes ago I immediately knew that it could not be one of the parents. Also the screams sounded differently – a high pitched tone, definitely that of fear.

I immediately ran out on the balcony and saw that bully bastard sitting in front of the entry, intending to jump into the nest. I grabbed the water sprayer and gave him a good shot. With a grumpy noise he flew off. I just could have strangled him

You know what – as many personalities pigeons can have, each an individual just like dogs, cats and humans – I believe that there are birds out there who have a very bad character. They are simply mean.

Now I decided to not give this bastard a third chance. I simply took the nest (the planting bowl) inside, put it on some hangers and hung it directly into my big window so that the kiddos can look outside, see the other pigeons fly by and watch all the activities.

0804x0003window2w

0804x0004window2w

.

The babies seem to be extremely happy now. They love the soft swinging of the nest and they have started to train their wing muscles now. Everything is so much more interesting for them now. And I can hardly work because I have to watch them all the time – . You cannot imagine what a feeling that is to know that they are safe now.

I showed Willy and Winnie, their parents, where their kiddos were. I put the nest for a short time besides their “feeding house” when I realized that it was time for feeding and believe it or not the parents immediately understood, which means, after feeding themselves, they both fed their babies IN my studio/living room and within the nest.

I have made a little video about this to document what happens here:

.

4 Comments »

  1. Love the pic’s and the videos’
    can’t wait tell my loft gets some babies(?)not sure what a baby pigeon is called
    I didn’t know either that pigeons would hurt each other’s babies, learn something
    everyday,

    Comment by Effa — September 28, 2009 @ 3:15 pm | Reply

    • Hi Effa, yes I had to learn that also. Was a pretty nasty attack and I don’t want to imagine what would have happened if hadn’t found my little Pina…

      Comment by pigeonwriter — September 28, 2009 @ 3:44 pm | Reply

  2. What a lovely video – and a great daddy! Now I know why they are called squeakers!!

    Comment by Rachel — January 19, 2013 @ 7:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

