Pigeon Tales

August 2, 2009

Angelo is eating from my Hand for the first time!

From the

Diary as of 6/21 – 6/22/09

6/21 Nearly all of “our” piggies are in moult – I am brooming tons of feathers each day….

6/22 And YES – Angelo ate from my hand for the first time!!! Our sweet little icebear – as we call him in the meanwhile. Oh my – he is soooo sweet  – he is a consolation for both babies that died 2 weeks ago. He did not miss a single day so far to visit us and get his seeds of course – LOL. You get nothing for nothing – do you?

This morning Joey was so greedy for food that he nearly jumped on me when I called him – i.e. he flew immediately to the little bowl I had in my hands for him with the result that half of the seeds were spilled on the balcony floor. He could not wait any longer. Was so funny! He apparently lost all his timidity from me. But only me! That’s good.

All the piggies were awfully hungry today – the weather is still awful – rainy and hardly 14° C. The poor animals – not only the birds  – that is not fair – we had such a long winter and now this. I really have big sympathy and I think that many young babies, birds, mammals will die with this weather. I am very sad about this because this means another year with no cuckoo, only very few swifts i.e. 3 or 4 pairs only circling above  our home. In the past years it were groups of 15 to 20 birds, chirping loudly while flying around and showing their awesome tricks. Such fun to watch them.

We have hardly seen any rabbits and nearly no hares. I think all the babies died in that bad weather. What a loss. They are always so funny to watch.

0713xx0001angelo

0713xx0003angelo

0713xx0006angelo

0713xx0007angelo

0713xx0008angelo

0713xx0015angelo

.
Oh – btw – this is the new way how I am feeding “our” pigeons now: instead of having them spilling all the corn all over the balcony floor – I have little plastic bowls covered by an old sock (washed!) with a hole in it. The little buggers get used to this quite quickly and stick their little heads deep into this bowl. Now they can be messy without the known consequences and no food is contaminated or spoiled!!! Also their feathers are not damaged because the sock is soft of course while they are digging like crazy…
I have the feeling that they love it being fed like this!

.

2 Comments »

  1. I was very sad to here about Wally. What an adorable little fellow he was. One cannot help but be very sad when these things occur. I went through a tough loss last year. Being a poet, I wrote a poem called “Ode To A Dove” and have posted it in Me+birds=happy. It is based on a real experience. If you would like to here about it, contact me. I am lindylou. Meanwhile, try keep our chin up….

    Comment by lindylou — August 3, 2009 @ 3:11 pm | Reply

  2. Thank you very much Lindylou – for your kind words. They are very much appreciated.

    Comment by pigeonwriter — August 3, 2009 @ 9:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

